Enable Accessibility Enable Accessibility

Planning permission granted for new Shire manufacturing site in Ireland

December 6, 2016

[Dublin, Ireland] – 6th Dec, 2016 – Shire plc (LSE: SHP, NASDAQ: SHPG) announces that it has today received formal planning permission for its new state-of-the-art biologics manufacturing facility on a 120 acre site at Piercetown, County Meath.

“We are pleased to have met this important milestone as we move forward in preparation to start building our new manufacturing plant,” commented Tim Kelly, Senior Vice President of Biologics Operations at Shire. “This expansion of our manufacturing capability will help us to support even more patients with our innovative rare disease products and pipeline.

“We are delighted to be expanding our operations in Ireland and will now start to recruit the leaders of our new team, which will eventually consist of approximately 400 highly skilled, full time jobs in the areas of R&D, operations, technical staff, engineering and construction.”

The site will use the latest bioprocessing techniques and will employ flexible production strategies to enable it to supply both clinical and commercial scale products. Recruitment has started and will extend into next year.

END

For further information please contact:

Shire Investor Relations    
Sarah Elton-Farr seltonfarr@shire.com +44 1256 894157
Ian Karp ikarp@shire.com +1 781 482 9018
Robert Coates rcoates@shire.com +44 1256 894874
Media - Shire    
Kirsty Langton kirsty.langton@shire.com +44 7766 102214
Debbi Ford debbi.ford@shire.com +1 617 949 9083
Media - Ireland    
FTI Consulting | Jonathan Neilan jonathan.neilan@fticonsulting.com +353 (0)1 66 33 686
FTI Consulting | Jim Devlin jim.devlin@fticonsulting.com +353 (0)1 66 33 606

NOTES TO EDITORS

About Shire

Shire is the leading global biotechnology company focused on serving people with rare diseases and other highly specialised conditions. We strive to develop best-in-class products, many of which are available in more than 100 countries, across core therapeutic areas including Haematology, Immunology, Neuroscience, Ophthalmics, Lysosomal Storage Disorders, Gastrointestinal / Internal Medicine / Endocrine and Hereditary Angioedema; and a growing franchise in Oncology.

Our employees come to work every day with a shared mission: to develop and deliver breakthrough therapies for the hundreds of millions of people in the world affected by rare diseases and other high-need conditions, and who lack effective therapies to live their lives to the fullest.

www.shire.com