Shire to participate at two upcoming investor conferences

June 3, 2016

Lexington, MA, USA – June 3, 2016 – Shire plc (LSE: SHP, NASDAQ: SHPG) announces that Jeff Poulton, Chief Financial Officer, will present at the Goldman Sachs 37th Annual Global Healthcare Conference on June 8, 2016 at 10:40 a.m. PDT (6:40 p.m. BST) and Perry Sternberg, Head of US Commercial will present at the Jefferies 2016 Healthcare Conference on June 9, 2016 at 11:30 a.m. EDT (4:30 p.m. BST).

The live audio webcasts of both events will be available on the Presentations and Webcasts section of Shire's Investor website at http://investors.shire.com/presentations-and-webcasts. Subsequently, a replay of both events will be available on this same website.

For further information please contact:

Investor Relations    
Sarah Elton-Farr seltonfarr@shire.com +44 1256 894157
Ian Karp ikarp@shire.com +1 781 482 9018
Robert Coates rcoates@shire.com +44 1256 894874

NOTES TO EDITORS

Shire is the leading global biotechnology company focused on serving people with rare diseases and other highly specialized conditions. We have best-in-class products available in more than 100 countries across core therapeutic areas including Hematology, Immunology, Neuroscience, Lysosomal Storage Disorders, Gastrointestinal / Internal Medicine / Endocrine and Hereditary Angioedema; a growing franchise in Oncology; and an emerging, innovative pipeline in Ophthalmics.

Our employees come to work every day with a shared mission: to develop and deliver breakthrough therapies for the hundreds of millions of people in the world affected by rare diseases and other high-need conditions, and who lack effective therapies to live their lives to the fullest.

www.shire.com