Shire Announces Award Recipients for Seventh Annual Scholarship for Individuals with ADHD

Shire Announces Award Recipients for Seventh Annual Scholarship for Individuals with ADHD

December 5, 2017

Lexington, Mass. – December 5, 2017 – Shire plc (LSE: SHP, NASDAQ: SHPG) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2017 Michael Yasick ADHD Scholarship. Now in its seventh year, the annual program provides scholarship tuition assistance and coaching services to a group of award recipients in the United States living with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) who are pursuing higher education at a college or university, vocational or technical school, or graduate school. Twenty-five award recipients have been selected from more than 2,000 applicants across the United States. Since the program’s inception, Shire has awarded a total of 323 scholarships to deserving recipients.

“Shire is deeply impressed by the quality of the applications we receive each year. The passion, dedication, and hard work of these outstanding students shines through, and we’re thrilled to recognize this group who represent the great work being done by all our applicants,” said Mark Rus, Group Vice President and Head of the US Neuroscience Franchise, Shire. “Shire is happy to play a small part in their bright future.”

As a part of the scholarship application process, applicants completed an essay explaining how ADHD has impacted their lives and submitted letters of recommendation. Additional award selection criteria includes involvement in community, volunteering, and extracurricular activities. The Shire ADHD Scholarship includes a $2,000 tuition award and a prepaid year of ADHD coaching services from the Edge Foundation, which includes weekly sessions with trained ADHD coaches. The students set weekly goals and action plans to meet those goals and have e-mail and phone support from their coaches to help keep them on track in their pursuit of higher education. The Edge Foundation is a Seattle-based non-profit organization that offers support for students with ADHD. The Edge Foundation’s primary mission is to provide access to qualified, professional coaches for students with ADHD as part of their multimodal treatment program.

The 2017 Michael Yasick ADHD Scholarship recipients are: Alexis Ariola of Arizona, Charles Cochran of Tennessee, Margaret Cunningham of Illinois, Breana East of Alabama, Alexandra Gianakopoulos of Illinois, Dana Hodde of Alabama, Haley King of Virginia, Gabe Jasper of Massachusetts, Matthew Paloucci of Massachusetts, Emma Parrish of Georgia, Ilya Rake of Pennsylvania, Katharine Rhoten of Wisconsin, Quinn Shaffer of Illinois, Camryn Shiroma of Hawaii, Jessica Sushansky of California, Ellis Vogt of Pennsylvania, Aneka Voth of Kansas, and Morgan Wilson of Ohio.

Please visit to learn more about the program.

Shire’s Commitment to ADHD

Shire is a global leader in ADHD education, as evidenced by our commitment to supporting the ADHD community for more than 20 years. We regularly share our expertise with physicians, patients, care givers and policymakers in order to raise awareness and broaden understanding of this condition. Learn more at

About Shire

Shire is the leading global biotechnology company focused on serving people with rare diseases. We strive to develop best-in-class products, many of which are available in more than 100 countries, across core therapeutic areas including Hematology, Immunology, Neuroscience, Ophthalmics, Lysosomal Storage Disorders, Gastrointestinal / Internal Medicine / Endocrine and Hereditary Angioedema; and a growing franchise in Oncology.

Our employees come to work every day with a shared mission: to develop and deliver breakthrough therapies for the hundreds of millions of people in the world affected by rare diseases and other high-need conditions, and who lack effective therapies to live their lives to the fullest.

For further information please contact:

Gwen Fisher[email protected]+1 781 482 9649
Clotilde Houzé[email protected]+1 781 266 3567


SHIRE and the Shire Logo are registered trademarks of Shire Pharmaceutical Holdings Ireland Limited or its affiliates.